Good evening! When I first established a want to write, I began with poetry. It was one of my first developed childhood hobbies. At the request of a good friend and follower tonight, I am going to share a piece of my poetry.




Your hair is ruffled

Thick, brushed back, dark.

Your eyes are focused

Brown, taunting, dark, and lovely

Your skin appears so soft

Tan, rough in spots from work

Beautiful, you sit across from me

The vapor escapes your lungs

And irrational jealousy surfaces

A burning sensation fills my chest

As I wish to touch your lips like that

To caress your skin

Like the smoke from your cigarette

If anything could keep me from you

But God himself

The lengths I would go

To ensure their dismay

Like gravity, you pull me

Down to the depths

Of silent breathless tension

And you observe

Without a word

Your eyes tell me everything

But your lips remain

On reserve

For another day

Deny my knowledge

Forget my quest

You know exactly

What I wanted to say.

But secret truths scream louder

Then the silence we live among

And you and I know

That you are the only one.


Thanks for joining me tonight.

-Dani




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Danielle is 21 years old, lives in Jerome, ID and she sells Mary Kay. She has a passion for life and is here to share it.

    Archives

    December 2013
    November 2013

    Categories

    All